Updated Tuesday, March 19, 2019, 4:30 pm

Macdonald Paterson Roy

The LCA Macdonald Paterson Roy started this morning at area clubs. Kudos to Jane Evernden for finding ice for the teams that were supposed to play at the RA today - as their ice went out at the last minute. The draw is here and will be updated after every game. Finals are at City View on Friday at 9 am.

City of Ottawa Bonspiel

The Grand Aggregate was an all-Rideau final at the Alexander Keith's Men's City of Ottawa Bonspiel, with Brett Lyon-Hatcher winning over Bill Blad. John Wilson of Richmond won the Seniors and Don Wallingford of Navy won the Senators. The draw is here.


Bob Edmondson of Oakville won the Grandmasters Provincial Champtionship in Thornhill, defeating Cumberland's Bob Rodney in the final. Teams from this area were Bob Rodney of Cumberland, Merv Roberts of Perth, Reg Plaster of Carleton Place Teams | Draw

CurlON Mixed & Senior Mixed

Provincial Qualifier A for the Brokerlink Mixed and Qualifier 1 for the Senior Mixed are this weekend in North Grenville.
Draw Mixed | Senior Mixed
Teams  Mixed | Senior Mixed
Sierra Sutherland of Rideau and Dave Collyer of Quinte advance to the Mixed Provincials April 10-14 in Gananoque. Winners in the Senior Mixed advance to the Provincial Qualifiers March 16-17.

Ottawa Ladies Bonspiel


Linda Dawdy of the Ottawa Hunt & Golf Club, with Donna May, Edwina Legere and Lorraine Elworthy won the main event Williamson Trophy of the Interclub Ottawa Ladies Bonspiel. For other event winners, see the draw here.

Little Rock Championship

Zone winners have all been determined for the 2019 Hogline Curlers Proshop Little Rock Championship. See all the details on the Youth Spiels Page. The Championship will be held in Almonte on March 23.

Provincial Mixed Doubles

At the Mixed Doubles in Brampton, Ryan Thomas and Sierra Sutherland of Rideau made the final, but lost to Shawn and Katie Cottrill from Wingham.  Teams | Draw
Winning team advances to the Canadian Mixed Doubles in Fredericton March 20-24.

U18 Mixed Qualifier

The U18 Provincial Qualifier A was in Carleton Place
Teams | Draw  Jordan McNamara of Rideau, Cole Lyon of Pembroke and Jett Gazeley of Cataraqui all advance to the Provincial Championship April 4-7 at Bayview.

Universiade Curling in Russia

Karsten Sturmay and his University of Alberta team of third Tristan Steinke, second Chris Kennedy, lead Glenn Venance and coach Rob Krepps are bringing home a silver medal after a 6-5 loss to Norway’s Magnus Ramsfjell in the final of the men’s curling event at the 2019 Winter Universiade in Krasnoyarsk, Russia on Sunday.
Full story...

U21 Mixed Doubles

Pictured below on the right, Emily Deschenes and Gavin Lydiate qualified on the A side out of Alexandria for the U21 Mixed Doubles Provincials, representing Alexandria. Emma Artichuk and Sam Mooibroek, on the left, qualified on the A side out of Kingston, representing Manotick. Jessica Thorne and Ryan Hahn won the B side in Alexandria. Lindsay Dubue and Nick Bissonnette of the Hunt Club won the B side at Cataraqui.
Teams | Draw   Provincials are March 29-31 in Listowel.


Men's Worlds in Ottawa?

The OVCA, along with the Ottawa Sports and Entertainment Group, and Ottawa Tourism are bidding to host the World Men’s Curling Championship in Ottawa at TD Place in Lansdowne Park April 3–11, 2021, and they need your help! The winning bid will be announced by Curling Canada in mid-October 2019. Full story...

Women's World Championship

At the LGT World Women's Curling Championship in Silkeborg, Denmark. Canada's  Chelsea Carey is 3-2. Broadcast schedule
Tuesday's games are at 9 am against Scotland and 2 pm against the USA's Jamie Sinclair.

Three Events in Fredericton

Three Canadian curling championships get underway Friday in Fredericton, N.B.
The U SPORTS-Curling Canada University Championships (including Carleton Raven's Cameron Goodkey), Canadian Collegiate Athletic Association (CCAA)-Curling Canada Championships and Canadian Mixed Doubles Curling Championship will be hosted on the two ice surfaces at Willie O’Ree Place.
Full Story...

U18 Provincials

Congratulations to Manotick's Emily Deschenes and her team of Emma Artichuk, Jillian Uniacke, Celeste Gauthier, Grace Cave (spare) and coach Greg Artichuck on winning the CurlON U18 Women's Provincial Championships in Paris. They had a perfect record of 7-0 and defeated team Steele 7-6 in the final. Dylan Niepage from Coldwater won the men's event
Playoffs  These 2 teams advance to the Canadian championships April 2-7 in Sherwood Park, AB.

Sendoff for Team Cochrane

Mark your calendars. Russell Curling Club is hosting a sendoff on April 5 for Bryan Cochrane, Ian MacAulay, Morgan Currie and Ken Sullivan as they will be hearding to Norway to represent Canada in the Senior Men's world Championship.
See the poster here.

OVCA Orphan Clinic

The Annual OVCA Orphan Clinic will be held on Saturday March 23 from 9 am to 11 am at Manotick Curling Centre. The Orphan Clinic is a networking opportunity for U18 and U21 curlers looking to join or form competitive teams and for teams looking to add or fill vacancies.

The Brier

Kevin Koe tied a record for most Canadian men’s curling crowns by a skip and gave Alberta its record-setting 28th Brier Tankard title by defeating Team Wild Card, skipped by Brendan Bottcher, 4-3 in a tense final at the 2019 Tim Hortons Brier, presented by AGI, Sunday. Full story...

Russell Cashspiel Winners

Matt Dupuis and his team from Cornwall won Russell's Richard Kargus Men's Cashspiel this weekend with a victory over RCMP's Al Solari. Ottawa's Jean-Michel Menard won the B event, Jeff Kent from RCMP won the C and Rhys Allen from Manotick won the D.

PIctured above: Team Matt Dupuis (left to right):
Dave Stanley, Terry Lichty, Jon King, Charles Wert, Matt Dupuis, and Richard Kargus (sponsor)