Updated Tuesday, October 22, 2019

Denn Ice Bonspiel Winners

Pictured about is Denis Elgie (sponsor), Mike Johansen, Ken Ellis, J.P. Lachance, Chris Gale, and David Brown (Chair). Team Lachance won the Denn Ice Invitational bonspiel at North Grenville Curling Club last weekend.


Instructors Wanted

Please contact Bill Duck if you are interested in assisting with the Hunt Learn to Curl on Monday and Thursday evenings and Saturday mornings.  A coaching certification is preferred but they are looking for interested and knowledgeable curlers that have a desire to work with new curlers. This is some compensation.

OVCA Mixed Bonspiel

Entries are now being taken for the OVCA Mixed Bonspiel January 16-19 at area clubs. Three divisions: Open, Senior and Colts. Check out the OVCA Mixed webpage for details.

Superspiel Qualifier

Congratulations to Team Deschenes (skipped by Emma Artichuk)and Ryan Hahn, who are returning to the 2019 SuperSpiel by qualifying through the OVCA Qualifier. Joining Team Deschenes are Mackenzie Comeau of Navan and Lindsay Thorne of Rideau. Joining Hahn are Jayden King of Pembroke, Jordan McNamara of Navy and Nicholas Rowe of Ottawa Hunt. The Brokerlink OVCA Superspiel takes place October 25-27.

Openings at the RA

RA Curling Club has openings for teams in the Tuesday Night Fixed League (7pm/9pm) and the Thursday Night After Hours League (9pm). All levels of skill are welcome and open to teams of any combination of men and women. Contact paul.armstrong.RACC@gmail.com for details.

Ice at Carleton Heights

Carleton Heights Curling Club has 4 sheets of ice available for a league on Sundays from 7-9 pm. If you are an existing league in need of ice, or are interested in starting your own league, contact Alex at 613-224-6224.

Learn to Curl at Granite

Granite Curling Club is hosting a free Learn to Curl and Open House event on Saturday October 19th. Doors open at 5:30 pm. Reserve your time slot here

Learn to curl at Rideau

Saturday mornings at the Rideau are now for Learning to Curl. Check out the Rideau website or see the Learn to Curl webpage for more details.

Opportunities at Granite

Granite has opening for teams and individuals in various leagues. See the details here, or contact the manager, Denise Hoekstra at 613-722-1843.


Grand Slam of Curling

The first event of the season, The Masters, starts Tuesday morning in North Bay.
Men's teams | Women's teams
Sportsnet will start televising games on Thursday at noon. Broadcast schedule

Buckingham U21 League

The Buckingham Curling Club youth curling program has evolved this year and are offering a youth league open to any and all youth in the Ottawa Valley. The league will be held on Saturdays 11 am to 1 pm from November to April. See more details here.

World Mixed Championship

Canada’s Colin Kurz and his team wore the Maple Leaf for the first time in their careers and certainly did not disappoint. The young team ran the table at the 2019 World Mixed Curling Championship, securing a gold-medal win on Saturday. Full Story...

Moosehead Classic

Congratulations to Jason Camm, Jordie Lyon-Hatcher, Kurt Armstrong and Brett Lyon-Hatcher on winning the 2019 Moosehead Classic at RCMP Curling Club. Championship round

Crystal Heart Bonspiel

The Senior division in the Crystal Heart Women's Bonspiel is now full, but they can put teams on a waiting list. See the bonspiel page for details. The event's goal this year is to reach the million dollar mark for donations to the Heart and Stroke Foundation (they have raised $906,000. in 21 years).

Level 2 Ice Tech Workshop

A level 2 Ice Technician Workshop (2.5 day workshop) will be held at Lancaster & District Curling Club on October 25-27, 2019
See the Ontario Curling Council website for more information or to register. Cost: $350 + HST

Mixed League at RCMP

RCMP Curling Club has room for two teams in their weekend mixed league, for couples or individuals. All levels of experience are welcome
For more information contact the club manager at manager@rcmpcc.ca or 613-749-7086

Men's Worlds in Ottawa?

The OVCA, along with the Ottawa Sports and Entertainment Group, and Ottawa Tourism are bidding to host the World Men’s Curling Championship in Ottawa at TD Place in Lansdowne Park April 3–11, 2021, and they need your help! The winning bid will be announced by Curling Canada in mid-October 2019. Full story..